Tokelau stamps

(Union Islands)

P=have O=don’t have it

Flag of Tokelau

Tokelau is a group of three tropical coral atolls (Atafu, Fakaofo and Nukunono) in the South Pacific Ocean, a territory of New Zealand (Swain's Island belongs to the United States). Known as the Union Islands, the 3 were a British protectorate from 1893; they were actually ceded to Britain in 1916, and administered from the Gilbert and Ellice Island Colony. In 1925 the 3 islands, still known as the Union Islands, were transferred to New Zealand, which administered them from Samoa, and whose stamps they then used.

The islands name was officially changed to Tokelau Islands in 1946, and they were incorporated into New Zealand on January 1, 1949.

The New Zealand Dependencies

Country map of Tokelau

Scott: #171O

Issued: 3.5.1990

150th Anniversary, Penny Black

 Inside #171: G.B. #1

Scott: #193aO

Issued: 01.02.1994

Hong Kong '94

Inside #193a: Pseudo Stamp

Scott: #254O

(Thanks to Jan van Lin for the scan)

Issued: 22.6.1998

50th Anniversary, Tokelau Stamps

 Inside #254: Tokelau #1O

 Inside #254: Tokelau #2P

 Inside #254: Tokelau #3P

Scott: #283O

Issued: 22.5.2000

Stamp Show 2000 Exhibition

 Inside #283 (In margin of sheet in show logo): G.B #1

Scott: #373O

Issued: 7.11.2008

TARAPEX Exhibition

 Inside #373 On diamond-shaped logo: New Zealand type A71 (Pic of #198O)

Thanks to G.B.

Best website related:

Tokelau Philatelic Bureau